“Her One Mistake” by: Heidi Perks

Hi friends & HAPPY Election Day here in Canada!

I’m back again with another book reco and believe me when I tell you, you’re going to want to run, not walk to pick this one up! It took me 3 days to finish and I’m still “shook” by the ending!

So without further ado, let’s jump straight into it!

The BASICS

Title: “Her One Mistake”

Author: Heidi Perks

Price: $22.99 CAD (from Indigo) 

Genre: Thriller 

Number of pages: 320

Goodreads score: 3.92/5

ABOUT

What should have been a fun-filled, carefree day takes a tragic turn for the worse for one mother when her best friend’s child goes missing in this “seriously page-turning” (Lisa Jewell, New York Times bestselling author), suspenseful, and darkly twisted psychological thriller.

Charlotte was supposed to be looking after the children, and she swears she was. But while her three kids are all safe and sound at the school fair, Alice, her best friend Harriet’s daughter, is nowhere to be found. Frantically searching everywhere, Charlotte knows she must find the courage to tell Harriet that her beloved only child is missing—and admit that she’s solely to blame.

Harriet, devastated by this unbearable loss, can no longer bring herself to speak to Charlotte again, much less trust her. Now, more isolated than ever and struggling to keep her marriage afloat, Harriet believes nothing and no one. But as the police bear down on both women, trying to piece together the puzzle of what happened to this little girl, dark secrets begin to surface—and Harriet discovers that trusting Charlotte again may be the only thing that will reunite her with her daughter….

This breathless and fast-paced novel—perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Couple Next Door—takes you on a chilling journey that will keep you guessing until the very last page.

MY THOUGHTS

Okay, “Her One Mistake” is THE epitome of a book that keeps you on the edge of your seat (and I think the fact that it only took me 3 days to finish proves that!).

But seriously, from the first few pages, I was hooked + needed to know how this story was going to develop ASAP.

I usually have a hard time with books that jump between “then” and “now”, however this one SO perfectly transitioned between the two that I actually enjoyed it. The book is also further broken down into two parts, Part 1 being from the perspective of Charlotte + Part 2, from Harriett’s point of view which again, I don’t normally like, but really enjoyed this time! Furthermore, even though this book is 320 pages long, it flew by and was SO easy to read.

At first glance, both women have it all together, but in very different ways. Newly separated Charlotte is the mother of 3 small children, lives in a fancy house and is friends with all the other mothers at the school. Harriett on the other hand, has the picture perfect marriage, only has one friend (Charlotte) and is the definition of a helicopter parent to daughter Alice who, until the day of the school fair, had never spent time apart from her daughter.

What should have been a fun day at the school fair, filled with bouncy castles, laughter and cotton candy ends in a parent’s worst nightmare when Alice seemingly disappears into thin air…on Charlotte’s watch. Throughout the books 320 pages, it’s a race against the clock to find out what’s happened to little Alice and if her disappearance has anything to do with the recent disappearance of a little boy from their small town.

There are twists and turns throughout every chapter, making it impossible to put down.

Anyways that’s all I’ll share about this one because I don’t want to spoil it!

I still can’t believe how this one ends!

So if you’re a thriller lover like I am, then you’ll definitely want to add this to your must read pile! I’m definitely going to find a few more titles from this author and give them a read!

Thanks so much for stopping by & until next time, 

       xo 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s